Photo by History in HD on Unsplash

A SUPER Simple Tactic To Make Voting Decisions

Ahna Hendrix
3 min readFeb 18, 2021

--

Voting for politicians can be such a headache — if you’re doing it right. But my approach minimizes the time, confusion and gets right to the root of who they are.

First, I’m not a fan of politics or politicians. But as of today, they run the country and that’s why it’s important to pay attention to what they do and to vote accordingly — on a federal, state and local level.

How can we ever expect our country to improve if we don’t purposefully vote for folks who want to love and care for it?

In fifth grade, I “voted” for the first time in a mock voting booth set up to teach us what it was like. My fifth-grade mentality told me that voting for Clinton was the way to go because he was younger, much to my father’s chagrin, haha.

Truth is, boys were much more interesting.

The next time I paid attention to voting, I learned a valuable lesson. It was the Bush vs. Kerry election and I had no idea who to vote for.

Then one day at work, the news was on, and I saw reporters heckling Kerry and his wife on a boat. I wasn’t paying attention to what anyone was saying because all I could see was the chemistry between Kerry and his wife. She did NOT like him. She wanted to be anywhere but with him. Mind you, she didn’t do anything glaringly obvious but I have always picked up on nuances easily.

And there it was.

At that moment I realized two things — if a partner doesn’t want to be with their spouse then that’s valuable information. And even more importantly, the partner selection tells us everything we need to know about a person.

So I voted for Bush. And I started paying acute attention to politicians’ partners. Were they women who loved their husbands? Were they women who aligned with my morals and values? Were they women I would want to hang out with? And my simple little technique has yet to fail me.

For instance, look at Obama. He’s a man who wasn’t afraid to marry a strong, fierce woman like Michelle. That fact told me everything in those early days when he was just another runner in the group.

Or even Laura Bush. She loves her husband, she really does. And she’s got a solid heart.

And then, of course, we saw Melania’s total disgust with Trump. There are a million memes of her pushing away his hand when he tried to hold hers. She despises him.

Maybe this seems juvenile to you. Maybe it is. But it works great for me and opens up a great conversation. It’s not like partners are the ONLY thing I pay attention to but that’s what I look into first.

Why?

Who we choose to spend our life with says everything about our values and who we are. And the health of the relationship shows the type of investment we’ll make in other areas of life.

Makes total sense to me!

Give it a try and let me know what you think.

--

--

Ahna Hendrix

Spiritual Guide. Akashic Channel. Intuitive Healer. Teacher. Podcaster. When we invest in ourselves, the world benefits. http://ahnahendrix.com